Events

NOVEMBER 2021

Tuesday; November 9, 2021; 7 PM Central; LitNight Dallas & Writing Workshops Dallas Reading

Hosting participants from Writing Workshops Dallas: Violet Augustine, Maryam Obaidullah Baig, Alison Powell, Devika Rao, Cynthia Stock.

November 19-23, 2021; Valley of Words Festival, India

Panel interview on Ratno Dholi: The Best Stories of Dhumketu by Professor H Nikhila, EFLU; moderated by Sri Venkatesham, IAS, Principal Secretary to Government of Telangana and an author (Youtube Video)

OCTOBER 2021

Wednesday; October 6, 2021; 11:00 AM PDT; Tasveer South Asian Literary Festival (online event)

Setting and Mood: In the literary world, place and atmosphere are as important as character and plot. Join Anjali Enjeti (Southbound, The Parted Earth), Kiran Bhat (We of the Forsaken World), Sunil Shinde (From Cairo to Beirut: In the Footsteps of an 1839 Expedition through the Holy Land), Shivani Sibal (Equations), and Jenny Bhatt (Each of Us KillersRatno Dholi) as they share details on how they create the perfect setting and mood to bring their narratives alive. Moderated by Veena Rao. (Youtube Video)


Sunday; October 17, 2021; 11 AM Central; 12 PM Eastern; 9 AM Pacific; 9.30 PM IST; Jaipur Literary Festival Houston (online live event)

Panel Title: Hyphenations

Vinod Busjeet and Jenny Bhatt in conversation with Parul Kapur Hinzen

Hyphenations assume a heavy history and unique role in diaspora writing, binding Indian origin with Trans-Indian experiences. Vinod Busjeet’s literary debut, Silent Winds, Dry Seas, began as a memoir, now a provocative novel about indentured Indian communities in midcentury Mauritius. Jenny Bhatt is a writer, translator, and critic whose debut short story collection, Each of Us Killers, depicts the lives of the Indian diaspora and the socio-cultural boundaries which frame them. In conversation with critic and writer Parul Kapur Hinzen, they discuss the ways in which they uphold, amalgamate, and recreate their identity, and yet remain rooted in their concept of ‘home’. (Youtube Video)


SEPTEMBER 2021

Thursday; September 9, 2021; 6 PM Pacific; 8 PM Central; 9 PM Eastern; City Lights Bookstore, San Francisco, California (online event)

In conversation with Jai Chakrabarti for his new novel, A Play At the End of the World (register here)

AUGUST 2021

Thursday; August 26, 2021; 7 PM Eastern; 6 PM Central; Solid State Books, Washington DC (online event)

In conversation with Vinod Busjeet for his new novel, Silent Winds, Dry Seas (Crowdcast Recording)


JULY 2021

Wednesday; July 21, 2021; 5 PM Eastern; 4 PM Central; Clubhouse Chat with Jai Chakrabarti, author of A Play for the End of the World (join free here)


Thursday; July 29, 2021; 12.30 PM-1.30 PM Central; 6.30 PM to 7.30 PM UK; 11 PM to 12 PM IST; Sangam Festival UK (online)

Panel: Bridging Cultural Gaps Through Literary Translation with translators Arunava Sinha and Jayasree Kalathil (Youtube Video)


JUNE 2021

Saturday; June 26, 2021; 2 PM-3 PM Pacific; Conversation with students at the Pacific Northwest College of Art. (private virtual event)

Topic: The Writer’s Journey Panel


APRIL 2021

Thursday; April 1, 2021; 6.50 AM-7.35 PM CDT; 3:50 PM-4:35 PM UAE; 5.50 PM IST; 11:50 PM-12:35 PM GMT; Ananke’s Women in Literature Festival 2021 (online; free to register here)

Panel: Globalizing Women in Literature Through Translations with Anjum Katyal, Ayesha Kidwai, Manisha Chaudhry, Gowri Vijaykumar (Youtube Video)


Friday; April 9, 2021; 6 PM CDT; 7 PM EDT; 4 PM PDT; 5 PM MT; Matthew Salesses in conversation (online; free to register at Writing Workshops Dallas)

Matthew Salesses in conversation with Jenny Bhatt about his latest book, CRAFT IN THE REAL WORLD (Youtube video)


Friday; April 16, 2021; 7 PM CDT; 8 PM EDT; 5 PM PDT; 6 PM MT; Texas Bound by Dallas Museum of Art (online; buy tickets here)

Maryam Baig reads “Separation Notice” by Jenny Bhatt; Kenya Flippin reads “Window Seat” by LaToya Watkins; Marcia Gay Harden reads “Women & Horses (1976)” by Elizabeth Wetmore; Matthew McConaughey reads an excerpt from “Outlaw Logic” from his memoir Greenlights; Chris Ramirez reads “Uncle Rock” by Dagoberto Gilb; Hosted and directed by Tina Parker, Kitchen Dog Theater


Wednesday; April 21, 2021; 11 AM CDT; 12 PM EDT; 9 AM PDT; 10 AM MT; ASJA Snack Chat Presentation and Discussion (members only)

Topic: Transitioning From a Tech Career to a Literary Career in Midlife


Thursday; April 22, 2021; 10 AM CDT; 11 AM EDT; 8 AM PDT; 9 AM MT; Conversation with St. Olaf College Creative Writing Students (publishing class) and Assistant Professor, Sequoia Nagamatsu (private virtual event)

Topic: Equity and inclusion in publishing


MARCH 2021

Saturday; March 6, 2021; 11.10 AM CST; AWP 2021 (online)

Panel: Conflicts of Interest in Literary Criticism with Anjali Enjeti, Hope Wabuke, Ilana Masad, Kamil Ahsan


Saturday; March 6, 2021; 12.20 PM CST; AWP 2021 (online)

Panel: Just Getting Started–On Ageism and Debunking Our Expiration Dates with Anjali Enjeti, Kelly Thompson, Nana-Ama Danquah, Karen Salyer-McElmurray


Monday; March 15, 2021; 8.00 PM IST; 8.30 AM CDT; BlogChatter (online)

Jayasree Kalathil & Jenny Bhatt: Translated works as a window to our culture (Facebook Video)


Thursday; March 25, 2021; 7.00 PM IST; 8.30 AM CDT; Tell Me Your Story

In conversation with Ilhana Katoch and Deyasini Roy about diasporic lives, migration, a sense of belonging and home and identity, and being global nomads. (Youtube Video)


Saturday; March 27, 2021; 2.00 PM – 3.00 PM CDT; Dallas Literary Festival (online)

Panel: Reading the World: How to Read More Inclusively From a Global Literary Canon with Will Evans, Joyce Sáenz Harris, Elizabeth Russ (Youtube Video)


Sunday; March 28, 2021; 3.00 PM – 4.00 PM CDT; Dallas Literary Festival (online)

Panel: LitNight Reading Series: Dallas Debut Authors with Sebastián Hasani Páramo, Kendra Greene, Seraphina Nova Glass, Simon Han; Matt Morton, Mike Soto (Youtube Video)


JANUARY 2021

Saturday; January 16, 2021; 11.00 AM CST; Instagram Live with @greekgirl.reads

In conversation with bookstagrammer, Evi, about Each of Us Killers, translation, publishing, and more. (Instagram Video)


Wednesday; January 20, 2021; 5.00 PM CST; Private Q&A with The Mae Fellowship Participants

In conversation with the participants of The Mae Fellowship about Each of Us Killers


Saturday; January 23, 2021; 8.30 AM CST; 8.00 PM IST; Conversation with Shri Bhagyesh Jha on Youtube

In conversation with poet, writer, and retired IAS officer, Shri Bhagyesh Jha, about Ratno Dholi: The Best Stories of Dhumketu (Youtube Video)


Thursday, January 28, 2021; 7.30 PM CST; 7.00 PM IST; Jaipur Literary Festival: Words Are Bridges

In virtual conversation with Salil Tripathi, writer, contributing editor at Mint and Caravan, and Chair, PEN International’s Writers in Prison Committee about translation from Gujarati to English and Ratno Dholi: The Best Stories of Dhumketu (Youtube Video)


DECEMBER 2020

Saturday; December 5, 2020; 8.30 AM CST; 8 AM IST; Women Writers Fest; ShethePeople India.

Panel: Authors of the Diaspora (Youtube Video)

In virtual conversation with Shaili Chopra (moderator), founder of ShethePeople; Rituparna Chatterjee, and Pallavi Aiyar (Facebook Video)


Wednesday; December 16, 2020; 8 PM Eastern; Instagram Live with Sheetal Sheth

In conversation with actor, writer, and activist Sheetal Sheth about Each of Us Killers, publishing, and more (Instagram Video)


Monday; December 21, 2020; 6 PM IST; Oxford Bookstore, Kolkata, India

Ratno Dholi Digital Launch

In virtual conversation with the award-winning translator, N. Kalyan Raman, whose latest work is a translation of a selection of short stories, The Curse, by the Tamil writer, Salma. (Facebook Video)


NOVEMBER 2020

Sunday; November 8, 2020; 10 AM Central, 8.30 PM Indian Time

Instagram Live with Vivek Tejuja, Culture Editor at Verve Magazine (Instagram Video)


Monday; November 9, 2020; 8 PM Central, 7.30 AM (Nov 10) IST; Jaipur Literary Festival Boulder, Colorado (Online)

Panel Moderator for The Writing Room: The Gurus of Crime (Youtube; Podfollow)

In virtual conversation with S. Hussain Zaidi, author of The End Game, and Vikram Chandra, author of Sacred Games


Tuesday; November 10, 2020; 6 PM Central; Malvern Books, Austin, TX

Panel: Being Brown in America: Community, Culture, and Code (Youtube)

In virtual conversation with: Donna Miscolta, author of In Living Color: Angie Rubio Stories; Grace Talusan, author of The Body Papers; Sejal Shah, author of This Is One Way to Dance; Sopan Deb, author of Missed Translation. Moderator: Martha Ann Toll.


Tuesday; November 17, 2020; 9 AM Central and 7.30 PM IST; Kitab Khana, Mumbai, India (IG Live)

Book Launch for Ratno Dholi: The Best Stories of Dhumketu

In virtual conversation with Salil Tripathi, writer, contributing editor at Mint and Caravan, and Chair, PEN International’s Writers in Prison Committee


Friday; November 20, 2020; 7 PM Central; Bandwidth Virtual Reading Series

Bandwidth: Bhatt, McGilligan, Mendoza, Olivares (register here)


Saturday; November 21, 2020; 7 AM Central; Himalayan Writer’s Retreat

Virtual NaNoWriMo Q&A with Writing Group of Himalayan Writer’s Retreat


Sunday; November 22, 2020; 10 AM Central; Jaipur Literary Festival Houston, Texas (Online)

Panel: Each of Us Writers: Diaspora and Displacement (Youtube)

In virtual conversation with Mimi Lok, author of Last of Her Name, and Neelanjana Banerjee, managing editor of Kaya Press


OCTOBER 2020

Thursday; October 8, 2020; 6 PM Central; Interabang Books, Dallas, TX

In virtual conversation with Jen Fawkes, author of Mannequin and Wife (Youtube)


Tuesday; October 13, 2020; 6 PM Eastern; The Community Bookstore, Brooklyn, New York City, NY

Panel: Against the Grain, a discussion on ageism and sexism in the publishing industry (Youtube)

In virtual conversation: Devi S Laskar, author of The Atlas of Reds and Blues; Sejal Shah, author of This Is One Way to Dance; Soniah Kamal, author of Unmarriageable; Anjali Enjeti, author of The Parted Earth; Jenny Bhatt, author of Each of Us Killers.


Tuesday; October 13, 2020; 7 PM Central; LitNight Dallas Reading Series, Dallas, TX

Facebook Live: LitNight Dallas Reading Series


Saturday; October 17, 2020; 7 PM Central; OKAY-Donkey Press Virtual Reading

Okay Donkey Presents: Death, Desire, and Other Destinations, an evening with Tara Isabel Zambrano


Thursday; October 22, 2020; 7 PM Central; Allen Public Library Reading and Interview, Allen, Texas

Live OnStage @ APL: Allen author Jenny Bhatt’s debut story collection, Each of Us Killers (Youtube)


Friday; October 23, 2020; 6 PM Central; Brazos Bookstore, Houston, TX

7.13 Books Panel: 2020 Debut Fiction Authors on Publishing During a Pandemic

In virtual conversation with: Leland Cheuk, author of No Good, Very Bad Asian; Beth Lisick, author of Edie on the Green Screen; Ross Wilcox, author of Golden Gate Survivors Society


Monday; October 26, 2020; 7 PM Eastern; Literati Bookstore, Ann Arbor, MI

In virtual conversation with Suman Mallick, author of The Black Marketer’s Daughter (Youtube)


SEPTEMBER 2020

Thursday; September 10, 2020; 6 PM Pacific; City Lights Bookstore, San Francisco, CA

In virtual conversation with Devi S Laskar, author of The Atlas of Reds and Blues (Youtube; Soundcloud)


Saturday; September 12, 2020; 3 PM Central; Internations, Dallas, TX

In virtual conversation with Jenya Teplitskaya, Internations Consul (no recording)


Monday; September 14, 2020; 6 PM Eastern; Politics & Prose, Washington DC

Panel: No One Actually Speaks Indian: Gujarati-origin Writers on Culture and Books (Youtube)

In virtual conversation with: Sejal Shah, author of This Is One Way to Dance; Sameer Pandya, author of Members Only; Rani Shah, author of Wisdom From a Humble Jellyfish; Saumya Dave, author of Well-behaved Indian Women; Madi Sinha, author of White Coat Diaries; Amit Majmudar, author of What He Did In Solitary: Poems.


Tuesday; September 15, 2020; 6 PM Central; Pilsen Community Books, Chicago, IL

In virtual conversation with Shruti Swamy, author of A House Is a Body (Youtube)


Friday; September 25, 2020; 7 PM Eastern; Read It Again Bookstore, Suwanee, GA

In virtual conversation with Chaya Bhuvaneswar, author of White Dancing Elephants (Youtube)


Monday; September 28, 2020; California State University, Sacramento, CA (Host: Torsa Ghosal)

Virtual discussion with the students of Creative Writing and World Literature on writing, publishing, and the Anglophone versus non-Anglophone literary traditions (no recording)


AUGUST 2020

Thursday; August 27, 2020; 6 PM Eastern; Radix Reads, August Reading

Virtual Reading with Aruni Kashyap, Nadia Gerassimenko, Mia S. Willis, and Fartashia Wijdan (no recording)


JUNE 2020

June 3-6, 2020; Belongg Literary Festival; Online

Panel: Feeling at Home in the World: Immigrant Identity and Belonging

In virtual conversation with Guruprasad Kanigele and Mitali Perkins; moderated by Debanjan Chakrabarti (Youtube)


MAY 2020

May 28-31, 2020; South Asian Literary Festival; Online

Panel: Writing Short Stories

In virtual conversation with Reshma Ruia and Sayantani Dasgupta (no recording)


SELECTED PAST EVENTS

Jaipur Literary Festival 2019

Women Writers Festival 2018

Jaipur Literary Festival 2017